University Council Minutes

02/19/2020 03:30 PM - Tate Theatre, Tate Student Center
View Related Documents Online The University Council met on February 19, 2020. A quorum being present, President Jere Morehead called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

As the first order of business, the minutes of the November 20, 2019, meeting were approved as distributed.

President Morehead then delivered his report to the Council:
  • The president opened his report by stating that at last week's Board of Regents meeting he presented Chip Chambers as UGA's Academic Recognition Day representative. Chip is a Foundation Fellow, a CURO Honors Scholar, and a double major in biology and economics. He is also heavily involved as a student leader, serving as Mic Man at UGA home football games.
  • The Regents Teaching Excellence Award will soon be presented by the Board of Regents to the Engineering Education Transformation Institute in the College of Engineering. The president congratulated Dean Donald Leo on this recognition. The Board of Regents will also soon be recognizing distinguished alumnus Jimmy Alston for his longtime support of higher education at UGA.
  • On the research and development front, expenditures reached a record high of $477.5 million for fiscal year 2019. UGA's economic impact on the state of Georgia has grown to $6.5 billion. 
  • UGA has been designated as a community engaged institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching for a second time. The first time UGA was awarded this classification was in 2010.
  • Provost Hu has charged two deans' search committees, one for the Graduate School and one for the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
  • On Tuesday, February 25, the University will celebrate the naming of the Mary Frances Early College of Education. This will follow the annual Mary Frances Early Lecture, which will be delivered by Albany State University President Marion Ross Fedrick.
  • The Commit to Georgia Campaign will finish on June 30. One of the highlights of this campaign is the creation of 533 endowed scholarships, totaling a commitment of $78 million to help students from low income backgrounds earn a degree at UGA. As well, 92 endowed chairs and professorships have been established. The campaign has also supported projects like the Veterinary and Teaching Hospital, the Business Learning Community, and has helped develop academic programs like Experiential Learning.
  • In last month's State of the University address, the president announced a $5 million pledge from the Delta Air Lines Foundation to complete the renovation of the Spring Street Building for the Innovation District and to activate a number of programs in that location, while also supporting a Student Success Center in the College of Engineering.
  • The General Assembly is in session in Atlanta. A number of important budget items related to UGA are being considered, including fully funding the formula that will help the University financially as well as funding the construction of phase two, and equipment funding to finish phase one, of the Interdisciplinary STEM Building, funding and design for a new Poultry Science complex, and operational funds to continue to expand the medical partnership with Augusta University. Also being considered by the General Assembly are small capital projects such as the completion of the renovation of Driftmier Engineering Center in the College of Engineering.
  • The president called attention to an email to faculty from Vice President for Instruction Rahul Shrivastav. The email reports that the USG continues to redesign the General Education Curriculum throughout all USG schools and colleges. The latest draft of the framework is now posted, and the USG is seeking input on the framework. The president encouraged faculty to review the proposed changes and provide feedback by the deadline of Friday, February 28.
  • This concluded the president's report to the Council.

The floor was then opened  for the following reports:
The following action items were presented to the Council for consideration:
There being no old or new business, the meeting adjourned at 3:58 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Fiona Liken, Registrar
Secretary to University Council
University Council Roster
Adams, Malcolm Harr, Logan Nesbit, Ryan
Anderson, Alex Hasko, Victoria Oliver, Kerry
Ayers, Benjamin Henley, Jordan Pardue, Samuel
Bai, Shuyang Hensel, Kyle Peterson, David
Bartges, Joe Herist, Keith Poulsen, Annette
Bergstrom, John Himelboim, Itai Prentiss, Amber
Bierema, Laura Holladay, Steven Richards, Patricia
Birch, Suzanne Hu, Jack Rugenski, Amanda
Bonner, Joy Huber, Mark Saleh, Eman
Borron, Abigail Hunt-Hurst, Patti Samp, Jennifer
Brown, Wayde Jackson, Angel Scheyett, Anna
Burke, Kevin Johnson, Beverly Schultz, Alisa
Byers, Rachel Kastner, James Schuttler, Heinz-Bernd
Caplan, Mary Kern, Kathleen Scott, Robert
Carpenter, Tina Key, David Seock, Yoo-Kyoung
Carson, Jim Kong, Fanbin Shaffer, Anne
Chess, Shira Leclerc, Monique Shelton, Robin
Chorzepa, Mi Geum Lee, David Shen, Ye
Cobran, Ewan LeGette, Casie Shipley, David
Cona, Kelly Lemons, Margaret Shrivastav, Rahul
Cooper, Jamie Leo, Donald Siry, Jacek
Coverdill, Jim Liken, Fiona Smith, Amanda
Crawford, Melanie Little, Elizabeth Smith, Kelly
Crepaz, Markus Lombardini, Leo Smith-Garvin, Jennifer
Crowe, Doug Mallon, Anthony Snyder, Margaret
Dahlen, Joseph Mani, Sudhagar Spangler, Denise
Dellaria, Nancy Marshall, Michael St. Pierre, Elizabeth
DeMaria, Don Masciadri, Milton Stigler, Stevie
Dorsey, Alan Mastrovita, Mandy Sumner, Maxwell
Dougherty, Anjali Mayfield, Mark Sumner, Spencer
Dumont, Devin McClellan, Ray Sweigart, Andrea
Femia, Patrick McClung, James Taha, Thiab
Frum, Jennifer McDaniel, Matthew Tang, Li
Fuhrman, Nick McDonald, Bill Tang, Lili
Fusillo, Lisa Mead, Daniel Thippareddi, Harsha
Futris, Ted Meadows, Braden Thomas, Ciera
Gabara, Rachel Means, Darris Thomason, Olga
Galvin, Luke Medeiros, Patricia Vencill, Theresa
Garvin, Chris Meichner, Kristina Villari, Caterina
Gaver, Jenny Michaelis, Vicki Vining, Richard
Glasser, Gary Moore, Mary Walcott, Ron
Goetcheus, Cari Morehead, Jere Watson, Joseph
Goodie, Adam Murph, Mandi Williams, Jarred
Greene, Dale Murphy, Amy Wilson, Victor
Happek, Uwe Mustard, David Wolf, Montgomery
Harding, Lindsey Naeher, Luke Zastre, Jason
Represented by Substitute
Auer, Matthew
Brooks, Kay
Brunow Beate
Bryant, Sam
Ceska, Jennifer
Cunha, Marcus
Davis, Charles
Davis, Marsha
Epstein, Kira
Francois, Sierra
Fresk, Kara
Graham, Toby
Hagood, Chase
Heynen, Nik
Hirt, Sonia
MohanKomar, Sheba
Moore, Mary
Tiller, Lori
Wilhelm Teena
Woodson, Brock