## Proposal to Revise the Bylaws of the Facilities Committee

Proposal: To revise the bylaws of the Facilities Committee to reduce the number of members.

**Rationale:** It is difficult for the Facilities Committee to achieve quorum so it can act because it is the largest University Council standing committee with 35 members (quorum=19) with the following composition: 24 faculty members, 3 student members, 1 staff member, and 7 exofficio voting administrators. This proposal reduces the total number of committee members to 27 (quorum=15) with the following composition: 19 faculty members, 2 student members, 2 staff members, and 4 ex-officio voting administrators. Note that there are 18 schools/colleges at UGA.

Please see the information below for the number of administrators on the 18 University Council standing committees. Though we don't know the history of the Facilities Committee, we speculate that some of the senior administrators on the committee were courtesy appointments while others' responsibilities relate more directly to the duties of the committee.

7 Committees with voting admin	6 Committees with non-voting admin	5 Committees with no admin
Executive (4 of 27)	Intercollegiate Athletics (3 of 14)	Statutes & Bylaws (5 members)
Facilities (7 of $35 = 20\%$ )	Curriculum (1 of 22)	Faculty Affairs (23 members)
Student Life (1 of 17)	Faculty Admissions (5 of 25 =20%)	Faculty Grievance (7 members)
Educational Affairs (1 of 16)	Fac/Staff Parking Appeals (1 of 5)	Fac Post-Ten Review Appeals (7)
Human Resources (1 of 28)	Univ P&T Appeals (1 of 18)	Prog Review & Assessment (28)
Strategic Planning (1 of 11)	Proposed Information Technology (1 of 23)	
University Libraries (1 of 22)		

## **Proposed Bylaws**

A. Membership

**Faculty:** One voting member of the Committee on Facilities shall be elected from the faculty of each School or College, except for the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, which shall have two voting members, one representing the Arts and Humanities and the other the Sciences. Faculty may be elected from within or outside the University Council and shall serve three-year terms. In addition to these faculty members, the Committee shall include six voting members elected from and by the elected faculty members of the University Council. Faculty elected from the Schools and Colleges shall serve three-year terms. Faculty elected from the Council shall also serve three-year terms, even if their term of membership on the University Council expires prior to their term of service on this committee.

**Students:** Two One undergraduate students and one graduate/professional student shall be elected as Committee members from and by the student members of the University Council. The student members may be elected from within or outside the University

Council. These students shall serve a-one-year terms as voting members. **Staff:** One Two staff members, elected by the Staff Council, shall serve a-three-year terms as a voting members.

Administration: The Associate Vice President for Physical Plant Facilities Management Division, the Chief of the UGA Police Department, the Director of University Architects for Facilities Planning, the Associate Vice President for Facilities Planning and University Architect, the Director of Institutional Research, the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, the Vice President for Instruction, and the Vice President for Student Affairs shall serve as voting members.

**Committee on Facilities Chair:** The Chair of the Committee on Facilities shall be elected each year from among the faculty and staff members <del>elected from the University</del> <del>Council and Staff Council, respectively.</del> on the committee.

## B. Duties

1. To review and evaluate policies concerning campus planning, the use of University land and facilities, and campus safety and to recommend necessary changes to the Council, the President, and appropriate offices.