The University Committee on Facilities met on 19 August 2019 in the 4<sup>th</sup> floor conference room of the Hunter-Holmes Academic Building.

The meeting was chaired by Bud Freeman and attended by committee members Mary Beisswenger, Tom Breedlove (for Gwynne Darden), David Eckles, Ralph Johnson, Laura Kelley, Fanbin Kong, Milton Masciadri, Michael Robinson, and Daniel Silk. Members Christopher Gerlach, Holly Seller, Amanda Smith, and Victor Wilson attended via Zoom, which proved to be a good method for folks with difficult schedules.

The committee approved Laura Kelley and Mary Beisswenger as representatives to the Major Repair & Rehabilitation (MRR) Committee. Committee chair Freeman informed the Director of Capital Budgets of theses appointments.

The committee selected Bud Freeman as committee chair for the FY20 term.

A general discussion followed that touched on Campus traffic congestion on Thomas Street and East Campus Road as well as pedestrian crossing issues. Plans to upgrade traffic signals and integrate these with Athens-Clarke county were discussed as possible solutions to some of this congestion. Pedestrian access across Baldwin Street from the School of Social work was discussed and FMD is addressing this concern. There was also discussion of ADA access issues across campus, especially in older buildings. The committee was informed of the newly formed Campus-Wide Access Committee which will address these concerns. Access to some Campus buildings by delivery vehicles is a continuing issue for some units (such as the School of Law) and presents a balancing challenge for deliveries and pedestrian access.

Submitted by

Byron J. Freeman, Chair