Faculty Affairs Committee report for Sept 2019 meeting for University Council

Barbara Biesecker chaired the initial committee meeting, and Timothy Grey was elected to serve as the new chair on August 27th. The committee recognized and thanked Dr. Barbara Biesecker for her service to and as chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee in 2017/2018. Committee members attending included Esra Santesso, Janette Hill, Thiab Taha, Bill Fitt, Ye Shen, Yoo-Kyoung Seock, Richard Vining, Jason Cade, Puneet Dwivedi, and Brock Woodson. Sarah Covert, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs was also in attendance. Topics for consideration during the academic year include edits to the Guidelines APT Instructional documentation and a Lecturer/Senior Lecturer Guidelines developed by ad hoc committee. Dr. Erin Dolan has provided comments to the chair and will be working with that committee on updates to the Guidelines APT Instructional documentation. An ad hoc committee was suggested and shall be formed at the next FAC meeting in September after seeking volunteers from multiple colleges and the FAC. The suggestion was to have a 5 member ad hoc committee: department head, the FAC elected lecturer member, a requested lecturer, a new lecturer, and a FAC member, with modifications if needed. Upon election for the lecturer members for the FAC, request for times that members can meet in order to schedule future meetings was conducted via a poll. The chair has been working with Associate Provost Covert and Dr. Dolan on developing an agenda. The next meeting will occur Sept 26<sup>th</sup> at New College, and include the newly elected lecturer/senior lecturer members, development of the ad hoc committee, and discussion of guidelines.

Respectfully submitted,

**Timothy Grey**