PRAC Meeting Minutes

September 3, 2019, 3:00-4:30 PM Peabody Boardroom, Administration Building Minutes Recorded by Katie Chapman

MEMBERS ATTENDING

Ibigbolade Aderibigbe
George Boyhan
Tina Carpenter
Mike Chamberlain
Kylee Duberstein
David Eckles
Dory Franklin
Nick Fuhrman
Rongbin Han
Ruth Harman
Peter Hoffer
Elizabeth Kraft
Justin Lavner

Michael Marshall

Carol Morgan
Raye Rawls
Paula Sanford
Vera Lee-Schoenfeld
Yoo-Kyoung Seock
Stephanie Tingler
Bill Tollner
Jeffrey Urbauer
Craig Wiegert
GUESTS
Allan Aycock
Katie Chapman
Madeline Smith

Katie Chapman called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm. A quorum was present.

Katie Chapman led the election of PRAC chair. Nick Fuhrman was nominated and voted PRAC chair.

PRAC Chair Nick Fuhrman called for nominees for chair-elect. Bill Tollner was nominated and voted to serve as chair-elect of PRAC.

The PRAC Chair and chair-elect each provided a brief introduction about their work at UGA and experience with the program review process.

Allan Aycock gave an overview of academic program review at UGA, the role of PRAC, committee expectations, and the role of the Office of Accreditation and Institutional Effectiveness.

Madeline Smith represented the Office of Instruction and provided an overview on the importance of learning outcomes assessment at the university. Madeline will provide learning outcomes assessment reviewer training for PRAC members serving in this capacity.

Katie Chapman reviewed the program review process, elements of the review and procedures for the self-study.

PRAC members reviewed conflict of interest disclosure statements from new dean nominees. PRAC Chair Nick Fuhrman moved to approve the new dean nominees on the Department of Chemistry review and the Department of Economics review. PRAC members voted to approve these reviewers.

Katie Chapman presented information items that will be the next steps in the program review process. Charge meetings will be scheduled this month, self-studies and survey data will be distributed to program review teams on October 1, 2019.

Nick Fuhrman adjourned the meeting at 3:42 pm.