Dear David:

In September, President Morehead tasked us with co-chairing a university-wide committee to develop a new diversity and inclusive excellence plan for the University of Georgia. The committee includes 21 members consisting of faculty, staff, students, and alumni, and we have enclosed a membership roster for your reference.

The charge of the committee is to develop a five-year plan that provides an explicit, integrated, strategic, university-wide approach to our inclusion and diversity efforts. The plan will include measurable goals related to three inclusive excellence priorities that were established by President Morehead, and these priorities are as follows:

- 1. Building an inclusive living and learning environment for diverse student access and success;
- 2. Recruiting and retaining a diverse University workforce to advance our mission in the 21st century; and
- 3. Expanding partnerships and outreach to strengthen diverse communities.

We draw your attention to the third inclusive excellence priority, which is focused squarely on university-community relations, including the University's engagement with the Athens community. Once the diversity and inclusive excellence plan is completed next year, major academic and administrative units across campus will be expected to engage in unit-level planning processes to establish corresponding goals to support the institutional plan, ensuring that all facets of the University are actively committed to diversity and inclusion in all aspects of our operation, including university-community relations.

To inform the goal development process, the committee is currently conducting many focus groups with internal and external stakeholders, including nonprofit, faith-based, business, and government organizations in the Athens community. (In fact, we will be conducting a focus group with Executive Committee next Tuesday at 4:00pm.)

We hope this information is helpful, and we look forward to meeting with Executive Committee on November 10 at 4:00pm.

Respectfully,

Michelle G. Cook

Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Strategic University Initiatives

W. Kyle Tschepikow

Special Assistant to the President and Director for Strategy and Innovation

UGA Planning Committee on Diversity and Inclusive Excellence

- 1. Michelle G. Cook, Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Strategic University Initiatives (Chair)
- 2. W. Kyle Tschepikow, Special Assistant to the President and Director for Strategy and Innovation (Co-Chair)
- 3. S. Elizabeth Bailey, Senior Associate General Counsel, Office of Legal Affairs
- 4. Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander, Associate Professor of Employment Law and Legal Studies, C. Herman and Mary Virginia Terry College of Business
- 5. Charles Carabello, Associate Director of Enrollment Management, Undergraduate Admissions
- 6. Yvette K. Daniels, Vice President of the UGA Alumni Association Board of Directors
- 7. Edward Anthony Delgado-Romero, Associate Dean for Faculty and Staff Services and Professor of Counseling Psychology, Mary Frances Early College of Education
- 8. Grace Gilbert, undergraduate student, School of Social Work, President of Gamma Sigma Sigma and Road Dawgs Leader
- 9. Darrice Griffin, Deputy Athletic Director, Athletic Association
- 10. Juanita Johnson-Bailey, Meigs Professor of Adult Education and Director of the Institute for Women's Studies, Mary Frances Early College of Education
- 11. Roswell Lawrence Jr., Assistant Vice President and Chief of Staff, Finance and Administration
- 12. William "Bill" M. McDonald, Dean of Students, Student Affairs
- 13. Gwen Moss, Assistant Vice President for Fiscal Affairs, Public Service and Outreach
- 14. Roya Naghepour, law student, School of Law
- 15. Marvin J. Nunnally Jr., President and CEO, In Touch Management Group
- 16. Joshua Patton, undergraduate student, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, Chair of the Black Student Union
- 17. C.J. Tsai, Winfred N. "Hank" Haynes Professor and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
- 18. Ronald R. Walcott, Interim Dean of the Graduate School and Professor of Seed Pathology and Bacteriology Resources
- 19. Jill Walton, Senior Executive Director for Development, Development and Alumni Relations
- 20. Elizabeth Weeks, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs and Charles H. Kirbo Chair in Law, School of Law
- 21. David S. Williams, Associate Provost and Director of the Honors Program, Meigs Professor of Religion, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences