The University Committee on Facilities met on 30 October via Zoom Conference.

The meeting was chaired by Bud Freeman and well attended by committee members Mary Beisswenger, Laura Bierema, Jon Calabria, Bob Capuozzo, Gwynne Darden, Erin Dolan, David Eckles, Patrick Femia, Chris Gerlach, Christopher Jue, Jason Lambert (for Ralph Johnson), Shayla Lee, Scott Nelson, Michael Robinson, Kristi Schaller, Ashfaq Sial, Daniel Silk, Elizabeth St. Pierre, Richard Vining, Victor Wilson, Kun Yao.

The committee approved Mary Beisswenger and Michael Robinson as representatives to the Major Repair & Rehabilitation (MRR) Committee. Committee chair Freeman informed the Director of Capital Budgets of these appointments.

The committee selected Scott Nelson as committee chair for the FY21 term.

Jason Lambert presented an overview of MMR projects recently completed and some starting this semester. He also touched on efforts to improve indoor air quality in response to concerns regarding Covid-19. Gwynne Darden presented a virtual tour of recently completed, ongoing and and planned construction activities on campus, including an overview of the i-Stem buildings.

A brief general discussion followed that touched on Campus traffic congestion on Thomas Street and East Campus Road as well as pedestrian crossing issues on East Campus and Baldwin Streets, especially near the School of Social Work. An overview of plans to address the pedestrian congestion on East Campus Road was presented. The issue of enhanced pedestrian safety crossing of Baldwin Street near the School of Social Work will require additional coordination with Athens-Clarke county and and further efforts to address will be pursued.

Submitted by

Byron J. Freeman, Chair