TO: University Council Executive Committee Chair, Eric Rubenstein
FROM: Barbara A. Biesecker
RE: Proposed Changes to the Bylaws (Chairs of Standing Committees)
DATE: September 15, 2024

The following proposed changes to the bylaws of the University Council's standing committees are recommended by the Committee on Statutes, Bylaws, and Committees by a vote of 5 Yes, 0 No. Currently, the bylaws for the six standing committees below allow instructors and non-tenured assistant professors to serve as chair. The proposed changes recommend against that, and aim to ensure that persons with Associate or Full rank and the protection of tenure fill these often time-consuming, labor-intensive, politically risky, and public-facing roles.

Part III--Standing Committees

1. Executive Committee Chair

Executive Committee Chair: The Chair of the Executive Committee shall be the immediate past Chair-Elect of the Executive Committee. Each year the Executive Committee shall choose a new Chair-Elect from among the elected faculty members of academic rank with tenure of the Committee who have at least one year of previous service on the Executive Committee (which could be from a previous term) and at least two years remaining on their committee term. The Chair shall serve as Grand Marshal of the University, shall represent the faculty of the University on external bodies that requires representation of Faculty Senate Leaders, and shall be an ex-officio member of the Board of Directors of the Alumni Association and an ex-officio voting trustee of the University of Georgia Foundation. With the advice of the members of the Executive Committee, the Chair shall call an orientation meeting of all chairs of all University Council standing committees prior to or during the first week of Fall Semester.

2. Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics Chair:

The Chair of the Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics shall be elected each year from among the faculty members of academic rank with tenure on the Committee. However, the Faculty Athletics Representative appointed by the President is not eligible to serve as Chair.

3. Committee on Statutes, Bylaws, and Committees

The Chair of the Committee on Statutes, Bylaws, and Committees shall be elected each year from among the faculty members of academic rank with tenure on the Committee.

4. Curriculum Committee

The Chair of the Curriculum Committee shall be elected at the last meeting of each year from among the faculty members of academic rank with tenure on the Committee by those with voting privileges. The Chair of the Curriculum Committee shall vote on

committee matters only in the case of a tie. Upon election of the Chair, a replacement faculty representative shall be elected from the Chair's School or College.

5. Educational Affairs Committee

The Chair of the Educational Affairs Committee shall be elected at the last meeting of each year from among the faculty members of academic rank with tenure on the Committee.

6. Faculty Grievance

The Chair of the Faculty Grievance Committee shall be elected each year from among the faculty members of academic rank with tenure on the Committee.