## University Council Faculty Affairs Committee Report 2009 Elizabeth A. St.Pierre, Chair

University Council's Faculty Affairs Committee met on February 10, 2009. Two items were on the agenda. The first issue was the possibility of granting tenure to a tenure-track faculty member who is budgeted 100% administration. After discussion, the committee decided to ask the faculty member's department head to determine whether the current promotion and tenure guidelines would suffice for that process.

The second issue, forwarded to the Faculty Affairs Committee by the Curriculum Committee, concerned whether UGA Institutes should be promotion and tenure granting units. After some discussion, the committee decided to invite UGA institute directors and other interested parties to another meeting to help us understand the issues involved.

## February 10, 2009

*Members Present:* Brian Bride, Lonnie Brown, Scott Brown, Georgia Calhoun, Adam Goodie, Steven Lewis, Hugh Martin, Scott Merkle, Henry Munneke, Stephen Rathbun, Elizabeth St.Pierre, Susan Thomas

*Guests Present:* Dean Sheila Allen (Veterinary Medicine), VP Jere Morehead (VP for Instruction), David Shipley (Chair, Univ. Council Curriculum Committee), Fiona Liken (Director, Curriculum Management), Jayne Smith (Director, Office of Faculty Affairs)

## -----

The Committee also met on March 6, 2009. The committee invited to this meeting the directors of UGA institutes, members of the administration, and other interested parties to inform the committee about the issue, which is very complicated and will require discussions that will extend into next year. We will continue to invite other stakeholders in this issue to meetings this year and next as we work through this process.

## March 6, 2009

Members Present: Adam Goodie, Henry Munneke, Stephen Rathbun, Elizabeth St.Pierre, Susan Thomas, Jean Williams-Woodward Guests Present: Robert Scott (Associate Vice President for Research), Jayne Smith (Director of Faculty Affairs), Jace Weaver (Director, Institute of Native American Studies), Fiona Liken (Director, Curriculum Management), William Vencill (Administrative Fellow to the Provost), Allan Aycock, (Director of Assessment & Accreditation), Harry Dailey (Director, Biomedical & Health Sciences Institute), Chris Cuomo (Director, Women's Studies Institute), Hugh Ruppersburg (Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences), Brahm P. Verma (Faculty of Engineering)