University Council Committee on Facilities

Report to Council, September 17, 2009

Committee Meeting of September 14, 2009, 11:00 AM, Tate Student Center

Attendance: Sarah Avery, John Blackstone, Mark Brown, Adrian Childs, Marc Galvin, Denise Gardner, Hui-Chin Hsu, Loch Johnson, Ralph Johnson, Anna Karls, Douglas Klieber, Thomas Krunkosky, Nicole Lackey, Williams Rooks, David Spooner, Lori Tiller, Jimmy Williamson, Richard Winn.

Guest: Lee Shearer, Athens Banner-Herald

Agenda items:

- 1) Thomas Krunkosky was elected as chair for 2009–10. It was noted that the bylaws may be over-restrictive in delimiting who can serve as committee chair. The Committee may request changes through the Committee on Statutes, Bylaws, and Committees.
- 2) Lori Tiller and Marc Galvin were selected as the Committee's representatives to the University's MRR Committee.
- 3) Ralph Johnson, Associate Vice President for Physical Plant, provided the Committee with an update on current and future campus projects.
- 4) The Committee returned to the proposal for a statue of Abraham Baldwin. After discussion, the Committee voted unanimously to endorse the proposal and forward it to the full Council for consideration at a future meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas Krunkosky, Chair