University Council Faculty Affairs Committee Report

Elizabeth A. St.Pierre, Chair

Report, November 5, 2009

University Council's Faculty Affairs Committee met on September 3, 2009. Two issues were discussed at the meeting.

The first was an issue the committee spent quite a lot of time on last year—whether UGA institutes might become promotion and tenure-granting units. Jayne Smith, Director of Faculty Affairs, provided the committee with information about this issue, and the committee will continue to consider it this year.

The second issue concerned minor revisions of the *UGA Guidelines for Appointment*, *Promotion, and Tenure*. Again, Jayne Smith presented several issues to the committee, some were discussed, and some will be considered at the next meeting.

Members Present: Brian Bride, Lonnie Brown, Adam Goodie, Steven Lewis, Scott Merkle, Steve Rathbun, David Saltz, Sukhmani Sarao, Jayne Smith (Director, Faculty Affairs), Elizabeth St. Pierre, Susan Thomas

The Committee also met on October 22, 2009. Several issues were discussed at the meeting.

The first was that Elizabeth St. Pierre agreed to be committee chair for a third year.

The second was a continuation of our discussion of proposed revisions to the UGA *Guidelines for Appointment, Promotion, and Tenure*. Faculty members agreed to continue to work on revisions via email.

The third issue was a continuation of our conversation about whether UGA institutes might become tenure-granting units. The committee decided to invite deans and department heads to a meeting about this issue.

The fourth issue was a discussion of whether and how a program's research mission is considered when a program, which might offer several degree programs and/or majors is eliminated. There are in place an Academic Affairs policy for the deactivation of programs and a policy for the reorganization of an academic unit. The committee will review both documents.

Members Present: Georgia Calhoun, Adam Goodie, Peggy Kreshel, Steven Lewis, Stephen Rathbun, David Saltz, Sukhami Sarao, Jayne Smith (Director, Faculty Affairs), Elizabeth St.Pierre, Jean Woodward