May 3, 2016

President Morehead, Council Colleagues and Guests:

The Executive Committee of University Council met on April 13, 2016 in the Administration Building's Peabody Board Room. With a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 3:30 pm by Chair-Elect Janet Frick, substituting for Chair David Shipley who was away from campus chairing an accreditation site inspection.

The minutes of the March 2, 2016 meeting of the Executive Committee were approved.

The first item on the agenda was the election of a new Chair-Elect for the 2016-17 term. This person will then succeed Dr. Frick as Chair of the committee for 2017-18. Ballots were distributed, collected and tallied. It was announced later in the meeting that Dr. Scott Pegan of the College of Pharmacy will be Chair-Elect next term.

The Executive Committee next voted to confirm a new slate of candidates to serve in vacancies on the Program Review & Assessment Committee (PRAC) for a two-year term beginning August 1, 2016.

The committee next approved for consideration by University Council seventeen (17) proposals from the University Curriculum Committee. These proposals are action items on the agenda of today's Council meeting.

The committee approved for consideration by University Council two proposals from the Educational Affairs Committee. These proposals are action items on the agenda of today's Council meeting. A third proposal from the Educational Affairs Committee to revise the Presidential Scholar and Dean's List Policy regarding summer semester courses was discussed at length with pros and cons raised by several members of the Executive Committee. Following this discussion, the Executive Committee voted to send the item back to the Educational Affairs Committee for further consideration.

The last item on the agenda was a second reading of a proposed amendment to University Council Bylaws. This matter is also an agenda item today for a required second reading and vote by Council.

There was no old or new business to come before the Executive Committee and the final meeting of the committee for 2015-16 adjourned at 4:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted

Professor David E. Shipley