Report from the University Council Human Resources Committee November 15, 2013

The Standing Committee of Human Resources met on October 4, 2013 at 10 am in Room C of Training and Development.

There were no action items.

Discussions included:

Report from Associate VP of Human Resources:

Duane Ritter provided a report to the committee that provided information on administrative openings within the HR department. He also included timely information about changes in open enrollment including specific information about dates, smoking surcharge, and changes in dental coverage level.

Report from previous chair of HR Standing Committee:

Janet Frick provided an update to the Domestic Partner Benefits action item from previous meetings. The current status is that Voluntary Benefits have been extended to domestic partners. At this time, the Board of Regents has decided that full health benefits cannot be extended. In addition, private funding from The Georgia Foundation to support this initiative has been declined.

Agenda Items Discussed:

Staff Council Vice-Chair Michael Lewis visited the meeting to express concerns about limitations in the current staff classification structure, and to discuss whether changes might be possible that would allow more recognition of expertise and experience. The committee discussed this, and suggested additional information that would be helpful for further discussion, including data on structures at our peer and aspirational institutions.

We also discussed an agenda item regarding the possibility of extending tuition remission to dependents, to offset the freeze on merit increases. The Associate HR VP confirmed that such a program would have to be offered to all benefits-eligible employees. Further discussion on this program may occur at future meetings

We will meet in February and may have action items to bring before the council in spring semester. As always, we welcome input and suggestions of issues that members of the university community would like to see addressed.

Respectfully submitted, Dee Dee McEwen, chair for 2013-2014 Janet Frick, chair for 2012-2013