University Council Libraries Committee Meeting Minutes

September 2, 2022

Present: Jane McPherson, Toby Graham, Emily Gore, Nan McMurry, Kristin Nielsen, Stacey Piotrowski, Duncan Elkins, Kristen Smith, Wayde Brown, John Maltese, Jennifer Gay, Cynthia Camp, Lauren Housley, TJ Striepe, Kisha Shelton, Katie Diehl, Jeff Netter, Yehia Abdelsamad, Bill Fitt, Raissa Nogueira De Brito

1. Welcome and Introductions

Chair Jane McPherson introduced herself and invited University Librarian Toby Graham, Libraries employees in attendance, and other members of the committee to do the same. Dr. Graham extended his thanks to members of the committee for their service, Dr. McPherson for her leadership, and introduced Emily Gore, who recently took on the role of Associate University Librarian.

He also described the UGA Libraries, including the five principal standalone Libraries facilities visited about 3.6 million times per year; investment in collections which ranks 20^{th} among US public universities; strong special collections including one of the top media archives in North America and the Special Collections Libraries Faculty Fellows program, in which some members of the committee have participated. The Libraries reaches 25,000 student participants with research instruction each year. The UGA Press and *Georgia Review* are part of the UGA Libraries, as is the information technology staff for GALILEO, which provides virtual library services to statewide at every level of education. The Georgia Capitol Museum and Center for Research and Education at Wormsloe also fall under the umbrella of the UGA Libraries.

Other Libraries employees in attendance and members of the committee introduced themselves and their unit and provided a brief explanation of their role on campus.

2. Charge

Dr. McPherson explained the role of committee service, acknowledging the opportunity to learn about library services and advocate for the Libraries with faculty across campus. The committee offers the opportunity for two-way communication to learn and give feedback while also promoting the Libraries.

The meetings are open to all and posted on the UGA calendar, and anyone is welcome to attend. Agendas and minutes are made public as part of University governance.

Cynthia Camp moved to approve the minutes from committee's previous meeting on February 8, 2022. Wayde Brown seconded. The motion was approved and votes are:

- 1. Jane McPherson aye
- 2. Jeff Netter aye
- 3. Bill Fitt aye
- 4. Cynthia Camp aye
- 5. Jennie Gay aye
- 6. John Maltese aye
- 7. Katie Diehl aye
- 8. Kisha Shelton aye
- 9. Kristen Smith aye