UGA Faculty Affairs Committee Meeting

August 23, 2023

In attendance:

Brock Woodson (chair), Tessa Andrews, Kristy Archuleta, Kent Barnett, Marie Boudreau, Shira Chess, Carolina Darbisi, Don DeMaria, William Fitt, Daniel Hill, Janette Hill, Travis Glenn, Erin Leach, Daniel Markowitz, Chris Mojock, David Okech, Eman Saleh, Elizabeth St. Pierre, Jean Martin-Williams, Dehai Zhao, George Zheng

Chair Brock Woodson called the meeting to order at 2:03. New committee members introduced themselves.

After a motion by Chris Mojock that Don DeMaria seconded, the committee unanimously approved the April 13, 2023 minutes.

The Chair then discussed several information items, including the following, that he anticipated that the Committee would consider this academic year:

- an update on the approved revisions to the Clinical Faculty Guidelines;
- revisions to the Lecturer Guideline revisions to render them consistent with other guidelines;
- proposed changes to the membership and voting on the President's Faculty Advisory Committee;
- revisions to Academic Rank Appointment, Promotion, and Tenure Guidelines including how annual evaluations are added to promotion/tenure packages; and
- proposed changes to the APT Guidelines concerning teaching contributions.

The Chair then asked for any new business or other potential agenda items for the coming year. The Committee discussed the informational items and potential agenda items, including how service is counted as part of allocations of effort.

After Janette Hill moved to adjourn and Jean Martin-Williams seconded that motion, the Committee agreed to adjourn at 2:43.